Violence: Domesticated

Before any preconceived notions are formed or assumed, no this post is not ‘personal’ to me, thereby I mean it isn’t an experience that I now converted to well ‘another blog post’, but are separate incidents, that yes, did happen in isolation over a period of consecutive days. Perhaps it is the and this is my contribution towards it: a post on violence against women. Also, this post is weeks delayed thanks to my inefficiency. Gah.

I am unsure if this is an overarching generalisation, but most, if not all women have been a subject of physical or sexual violence at least once in their lives. No, this does not include the sly, lewd comment a passer-by makes on my too-short-for-comfort skirt. This is a form of abuse, no I do not disagree nor do I undermine its capacity to seriously harm an individual’s mental health, but this is not the focus of my post. Perhaps, another time. Here, I speak of violence against women that includes physical or sexual abuse. To explain in detail, this is the physical or sexual abuse or advances that are not consensually received. Is that phrase even right, ‘consensually received”? :s

There was a video that caught my eye a few months ago and I show it to anyone who would watch. Basically it speaks about Rape and how it is the fault of women as a satire to the manner in which it has been received, in this case, in India.

I have spoken of it before, just in case you were wondering 😉 One where I wrote on women who strive to please and the justification of patriarchy.

Since my focus is on domestic violence today, let me try to explain as to why I think violence is in fact domesticated. By this, I mean it being all hushed up and not reported, documented and thereby allowing for it to be continued over time. The latter takes place especially if there are children involved and when women opt to stay in the marriage for the sake of children.

Also, another interesting observation that I noticed after these three incidents is in fact the concern of class. When, in a lower class society, the woes of the poor and marginalised are often highlighted. Again, no qualms against it whatsoever, its fine to look towards their needs and comforts and concerns etc. However, no one really pays attention towards us noh. By ‘us’ I meant the urban folk. I was going to say ‘urban elite’ but then realised I didn’t fall to the ‘elite’ category. Tsk. It’s the norm to look towards the concerns of the poor and the marginalised. Why? Maybe because the urban elite does not go through any sort of domestic violence and live their perfect white-picket fence lives. Or in the case of Sri Lanka, this would include the perfect two-storey house with high walls and those roller-gate thingies.

Now since the post is done and I will not be haunted by ‘unfinished business’, I am going to watch yesterday’s episode of Game of Thrones. After all, we are most concerned with such priorities yes?

Comments

