The Story about Distractions

An interesting article popped up my LinkedIn feed, one of those ‘recommended’ slash homepage right-on-top ones. Funnily enough, this one was on Distractions.

So if there is something anyone wants to know about distractions, come to momma, you have come to the right place. I know all about these distractions. Why, you may ask? Because (chee, I started a sentence with ‘because!’) I work from home and I know how fast I get distracted. No, I don’t say that I’m not productive, heck I have employers and clients who might be reading this now *big smile* but, distractions are not necessarily a good thing noh.

Fine, I am not completely negating this said article. In fact there are a few things I do agree upon, so as to not wanting to sound hypocritical. However, on the flipside, distractions are difficult to deal with IRL! The author chappie, Ilya Pozin (He is the “CEO of Open Me”. the title says *snigger*) lists four primary reasons on why distractions are good. Let me do a quick paraphrase and as to why I do not completely agree after:

  • It makes you a better leader

The keyword here is communication and networking. Okay that makes two words but still, being accessible via email and all other forms of media etc does not necessarily make you a ‘better leader’ imho. There is much more than ‘networking’ that makes a good leader and one of which is productivity and discipline. As a leader, if you are not willing to discipline yourself into replying your mail at a designated time (debatable if you say work in media or similar environments?) and have a plan mapped out for meetings etc, don’t be surprised if you find more of your co-workers doing regular ‘chatting by the water cooler’ sessions in the name of networking. Being a leader is about setting an example. As partial disciplinarian I believe that unless the leader becomes a trendsetter in ‘enforcing’ slash nurturing a culture that revolves around discipline, productivity and complemented by of course networking and communications, the workforce not have their happily-ever-after.

  • You are more creative

So in a ‘nutshell’ this brings to you the naked “Eureka” moments and the stroll in the ‘park’ (where in SL that happens I have no idea) where you wind up with a truckload of ideas. I completely agree. As a writer and before that (or from the time I could write!), I was always accustomed to carrying a notebook with me. Now I have my phone, laptop etc yes, but still there is at least one jotting-down notebook apart from the rest of the ‘work’ notebooks I have in my bag. Most of my ‘creativity’ comes to me while of course in the shower, in traffic, while cooking or even while doing yoga. Or in other words, when I am not really in a position to write! Sigh. I need to get myself a new phone with one of those assistants me thinks.

So with distractions and creativity. I think my problem lies here with him entitling these ‘distractions’. Some of these are actually daily requirements, such as a shower! Even for those of us who work from home 😀 As for the walk in the park well, eh, meh. Also, while our author chappie goes on an extensive psychological rant even quoting the likes of good old pervert Dr Freud, I must also add with my little knowledge on the subject that people’s brains function different. I mean we are all smart (or that is what I keep telling myself). Thus, we all have different levels of creativity and are susceptible to our respective ‘Eurekas’ in different settings. Some might even have one of those moments, fully-clothed at a board meeting or at their desk at a BPO.

  • It leads to problem solving 

What problems my distractions have solved for me, well, they’ve just kept me distracted and made sure that my workload piled up even more.

It makes slight references (from what I understood) to the previous point as well and even goes on to say that “vaguely distracting settings like a coffee shop… is just enough distraction to keep you on your toes and keep your brain working.” Well, I agree. As a writer, I have sought different places of comfort and free WiFi to write. However, that is not necessarily to ‘solve problems’ unless making my way down the day’s to-do list can be considered thus, but is more on the lines of working at a different setting. I usually sit at my desk for most part of the day and seek distractions by making tea / coffee, walking around the house, talking to myself, going on YouTube / Twitter / eBay! or even doing laundry. So when I go ‘out of my house’ or comfort zone, I am no longer in my pyjamas and to an extent am disciplined and thus manage to finish a bit of work or ‘solve problems’ until some cute boy walks in. Nah, that rarely happens. However, while a different ‘setting’ leads to more productivity, again I wouldn’t call it a distraction per se. A similar example would be how a child/baby’s room setting is changed every few months so the child gets accustomed to new things / perspectives etc. I think it works on similar lines here also noh.

  • It helps you prioritise 

Uh. Uh.

Uh.

I write a to-do list almost everyday and going on YouTube or Facebook-stalking someone is usually not in this list. I suppose what the author tries to say here (and maybe he did, though it didn’t ‘speak’ to me) is that as a result of there being distractions, you become acutely aware of this ‘enemy’ and try to fight your way down your daily list, before you allow yourself to be consumed by the World Wide Web?

Hmm. Overall, this chappie should’ve re-titled his article. I mean, try selling that to a head of some company (not those who ‘Open Me’ of course. HAHA) and I’m not sure it would work noh. He should’ve perhaps brought in more angles of productivity and capitalised on that as opposed to have in a “Why Distractions Are Actually Good” in-your-face-thing.

Eh. Subtle nuances gone. Out the window.

But,

He did make me read the article AND write a post about it. Joke is on me putha.

P.S. – What feedback on the theme? 😀

Comments

