On Making the Most of It

The Nepali bestie I met in India said in an email recently, ‘Drunk on inspiration’. It was in response to the gazillion TED Talk vids I sent her and a few others. Yes, we have our reservations towards the initiative, the same way we have our concerns with the United Nations, CHOGM (the road are fab, hokay), America, Amnesty International, Miss World etc. However, this happens with all organisations, countries and those in authority, and the very same questions of transparency, accountability, reliability and similar-ities come in to play, as one grows to be powerful.Β 

This was not what I was trying to say, anyway.

Another friend also said that I may be borderline ADHD. Haw.

So, am I drunk on inspiration right now? No, not really?

Am I motivated? Well no, but I was told that I could motivate others lu. HAW. So here I am, trying to cheat myself in to buying what I am writing for you.

After coming back to SL, I’ve realised many things. One of which was harnessing and thereby maximising, your ability(ies).

I’ve been on the threshold of this niche talk, as I strive to discover my own (Google isn’t being helpful, really). It’s really important to me to document these deets, as I know that:

a) I have a terrible memory and if I had to ever refer when writing my autobiography, this may be my only source of information, before I had my fifteen minutes of shame;

b) As a result of knowing that I have a terrible memory or that I am bound to forget, I psychologically tell myself that I will and then go placebo on writing;

c) I’ve been doing journalling, even as a child and no, do not give me the White-Man-brought-this-to-the-colony-bullshit.

In this process of writing and documenting and blogging and doing my job, which is also to write, I suppose I did come to some conclusion about my ability to write. I can now say that ‘I write’ as opposed ‘I think I can write’. Okay, I still do say the latter at times, out of sheer modesty OR to maximise potential, whichever works best πŸ˜‰

However, having said that, I’ve realised that once the ‘think I can’ phrase Β­is in fact omitted from that particular conversation, your tone invariable becomes authoritative. You not only gain control of what you are saying, but with it also comes a deep-rooted sense of conviction. The more you start admitting that you can actually do something, as opposed to ‘thinking you can’ do something, you genuinely know you can and ultimately do a better job of it. Your conviction is then voiced out as you speak to your boss or client and theyΒ become convinced of your ability. You see the nod of approval and poof, job’s all yours.

Happy writing.

2 thoughts on “On Making the Most of It

  1. sabh says:

    Heh. The “think/can” conflict. That is what my internal conversations revolve around.
    I should find out by actually writing shit, maybe? Should.

    Like

Comments

