Of What Was Left Unsaid

It’s been a while since I graced my blog with a post. It’s not the lack of inspiration. There’s been tonnes of it. Ideas too. But you know, that moment when you want to and well, pretty much the same opening paragraph of my last post.

The end of the year. Yes it’s December already. The month of Christmas, birthdays and well, the generic feeling of it being the end of the year. It’s also a time for some of us to perform our annual review on the good deeds we’ve done and you know, things that’ll get us in Santa’s good books. In my opinion, the financial year and its year-end being March, may have derived from the want to evade the gloom of the ‘end of the year’. Lols.

I never made New Year resolutions. First, by religion, it’s not the New Year we celebrate. Second, I find them a little impractical. I don’t need to wait till the end of the year to realise that I have to give up a bad habit or acquire a good one, start studying more, working more, to become more productive or write one of those endless lists.

The end of the year, in all fairness to the rest of the eleven months, whizzes by soon. Again, like the remaining months of the year, come January, you wonder where the year went and most of all, what happened the previous month? The month of holidays and relaxing and what not. Suppose you could plan this year and the long-awaited Christmas holidays better?

Somewhere in my process of growing up, I think I stopped doing that too. While I am still a firm believer of planning ahead, I think there is an overarching cloud of Carpe Diem that seems to integrate itself to my supposed-prudent thought. I guess it creates a balance between the two, but for some of us extremists, it is a lot to deal with.

Until another post comes up, to my readers out there – yes, I seem to have a few it seems! *yay* – you’ve contributed to the thousands of hits on Jillinthebox90 this year, so thank you 🙂

Second, in the process of connecting with my audience and “breaking the fourth wall” let me leave you with something I seemed to have used quite a bit the past three-hundred-and-thirty-eight days. While it is important to look be cautious of what is appropriate and expected, if there is something that nags you to the brink of resurfacing the insomniac in you, act on it. My Sister once told me that at the end of the day, you have no one but yourself. For me, there is God too. Do yourself a favour and do whatever that bugs you. Misery will hit you first, but as the months “whiz” by, you learn to live with it, like everything else around you and then comes the moment of glory when you actually pat yourself on the head for the initiative taken.

The time is now.

Comments

