Cemetery Lover

Before a general conclusion is drawn upon the title of the blog, stop and go through the first paragraph. Okay. Fine. Cheap marketing strategy yes I acknowledge. However, for some odd reason since my late teenage years I began to grow a fondness towards cemeteries. The logic that follows would be that me liking funerals which I actually do; until I go and then feel all miserable. Explanation for me liking funerals as opposed to weddings: dressing up is not a prerequisite. Lame reason, agreed.

Cemeteries. My fascination began to take shape before I watch “A Walk To Remember”. I don’t exactly recall when and how but I vaguely remember the epitaph of T.B. Ilangaratne (if I recall correct) that was in the Kanatta round-a-bout. Akki pointed out to me one fine day on our way to school, I would’ve been quite small then, however I  remember this particular tombstone. Reflecting on the image, later it dawned to me as to how futile and how instant life is. At one point, we are all someone. Someone we aspire to be, someone we had always want to be. Next moment, we have amass of people, known – unknown, like – dislike attending our funerals and paying their apparent last respects. It’s not as though I believe that we should all live in misery because we will die any moment. Just the thought of it, of death being so instant not only scares us, but hits us on the face with memento mori (remember your mortality). The latter concept was a new finding I must add, taught by our English teacher. She elaborated further saying that by constantly reminding us of memento mori, we are able to literally keep our feet on the ground, as we come in to terms with the realisation that we will all die someday.

Cemeteries. I love cemeteries. As mentioned, it gives us time to reflect on our mortality, our probability to die. However, it also makes us think of an equally important aspect: Carpe Diem (seize the day). Live for the moment some of us might call it. Personally, I share a very intimate relationship with this particular aspect. Please folks, that is not to be misinterpreted at any cost. Getting back to the point, (I really need to stop getting side-tracked with what I have to say) walking through a cemetery makes one feel how much they need to accomplish in life before Death captures us, without warning. It’s ironic because this characteristic would be purely subjective. i.e. – a student doing his O/Levels would want to pass to A/Levels while a MPhil student would be dreaming of his or her Doctorate.

Cemeteries. Cemeteries are calm and peaceful. The third reason that would justify my fondness towards cemeteries is the immediate surroundings. It’s peaceful and quiet and is ideal for the Dead. Coming to think of it, I would be thrilled to have been buried in such a place, as I would like to be away from the maddening crowd and horrid traffic. However, fancy cemeteries such as the one in the Kanatta round-a-bout does not pave way for this. Regardless of such exceptions, I believe that a majority of grave-yards were in quiet areas was to not disturbed the dead. This may have been the reason as to why a grave-yard and church follow the concept of the “gamai-pansalai; wevai-dagabai” (the village and the temple; the river and the temple). The translation does not do much to highlight on the concept that is been spoken of, but to those of whom who have done some amount of their education in Sinhalese, shame on you if you don’t know it.

Now if you thought that reading this was a waste of your time well I am Laughing Out Loud.

2 thoughts on “Cemetery Lover

Comments

