Love Struck

You left me ‘speechless’ while we were ‘chasing cars’

Love. Infatuation. Love. It is the only thing that would keep you from doing assignments to which you are responsible for on behalf of your entire group. It is the only thing that would make you want to write about it, as it had been nagging you for the past indefinite number of weeks. It is the only thing that would make you want to perform the Herculean task of jumping over those Greco-Roman mountains or some jazz. It’s also the only thing that would stop you from Skyping with your bestie living in the US #oops

At times I wonder if this is what love is in the end. The ability to de-prioritise school or college work and ensure that you write a blog post about the way you feel. I was told by a nice guy and to an extent cynic, that blogging was all about writing about what time you visited the loo, how many meals you had a day so on and so forth. That’s what Twitter is there for, if you ask me. Teehee. I find blogs to be intellectual, enlightening, amusing, thought-provoking and of course absurd too, undoubtedly. But then again, who I am to judge. It’s not as though I am a frequent blogger after all.

Anyhow, my initial content was to be on the subject of a some odd months in long-distance or something of that sort. But, that would really do me justice, as now coming to think of it, I wonder if I loved him all along. True enough I did crush on him for a considerable period of time *blush* before, realisation dawned on me of course. But then, nature and beauty took its course I suppose! Haha πŸ™‚

At times, I feel as though it is some sort of an illusion. This whole love-business. Maybe, it’s because I’ve been a cynic for a good deal of my late teens. Not that I am not now. It’s just that, I’ve come in to terms with the boundaries that come with my cynicism. Same goes for my feminism too. Maturity I suppose.

But coming to think of it, it’s something that any individual would feel good about. There is the literary concept of an individual falling in love with another in order to look good in one another’s eyes. True, there is a sense of nihilism affixed to it. However, ‘looking good’ could on the other hand be a substitute for one accepting the other as they are and vice versa.

The thing about him is that, not only does he make me feel good about myself, but also about the world around me. As corny as this may sound, I find him faultless. Note, I said faultless and not flawless. Personally, being flawless is just too plastic. As I sat recalling his virtues, I tried listing out those of which are bad and found my self in a fix.

He has made me accept the world around me, “removed all walls I surrounded myself in”, taught me to trust others and make me a better person all together. I wouldn’t know life without his madness πŸ™‚

 

“And thus invoke us, “You, whom reverend love
Made one another’s hermitage ;
You, to whom love was peace, that now is rage ;
Who did the whole world’s soul contract, and drove
Into the glasses of your eyes ;
So made such mirrors, and such spies,
That they did all to you epitomiseβ€”
Countries, towns, courts beg from above
A pattern of your love.”

The Canonization

John Donne (1572- 1631)

3 thoughts on “Love Struck

Comments

